Thursday, October 4:  Ailsa’s Travel Theme (Where’s my backpack?) for this week is Foliage.  She writes: It’s getting all autumnal up here in the northern hemisphere, while down in the southern hemisphere everyone’s looking forward to spring. Whichever hemisphere you inhabit, now is a fantastic time to get out and have a look at what the trees are doing. Whether they’re about to burst into life with fresh green growth, or starting to adorn themselves in their autumn glory; even if they’re still wearing their evergreen needles, it’s a wonderful time to go leaf peeping.

Here are some pictures of foliage from Greece:

sparse foliage on a line of trees near Rethymno Fortress

a little potted garden of foliage in Hania, Crete

strange but interesting foliage ~ looking across the sea to Rethymno Fortress in Crete

a lane bursting with foliage ~ and a lone man…

cactus-like foliage in Oia, Santorini

a cafe and its foliage beckon me to stop for a snack in Oia, Santorini

About catbird in japan

As of July 15, 2015, I'm now taking a break from living abroad. I'm living in Oakton, Virginia and looking for my next opportunity. Last year, I lived in China and taught English at Sino-Canadian International College. I also taught at a university in Nizwa, Oman for two years, and in Korea's public schools for one year. I love to travel and have been to 24 countries.

15 responses »

  1. Marco says:

    Oooog pretty! But no fig tree foilage? LOL

    Your 1st pic, is that trees or those spiky aloe type plants with the tree-like shoots in the middle?

    • I wish I knew how to recognize fig trees. I’m sure there were some there, but I just am clueless!! As far as those odd trees being aloe type plants ~ you may be right!

      • Marco says:

        Haha the fig trees are the ones that make you itch! So the archetypal Adam/Eva covering themselves with fig leaves – better them than me! I don’t have a clue either, hey – I’m not seeing very well today (ran out of contact lenses and my glasses are in my room so it’s squint and go) so who knows!

      • Oh, they make you itch? I didn’t know that! I guess the fig leaves must be pretty big if Adam and Eve used them to cover up! Better get your glasses on!

      • Marco says:

        Yeah it’s better now that I can see. And I am meant to run with them on just now? Next to the sea – they clog up so fast! Maybe the fig leaves were mutated or they got super-sized versions from a local MacDonald s?

      • That would be a sight, Marco, watching you run with fig leaves on. By the way, we don’t even know what you look like! Maybe you can post some self-portraits?? Or do you have a link to a post with photos?

      • Marco says:

        That would be an itchy and scratchy spectacle, no doubt. Oh right, photos, I should look into that sometime…

  2. I am here for you! 🙂 Those plants that look like trees are not trees, they are a type of shrub that sometimes can get that high. In the background though there are wild fig trees! The ones with the spikes! @Marco even without your contact lenses you have a good eye! 🙂

    • Thanks to you and Marco, Ioanna! It’s good I have you two to straighten me out! Are those tall spiky trees aloe bushes, like Marco thinks? Or, are they the fig trees? Or are the lower bushes in back the fig trees? I have to say I’m getting a little confused!

  3. Marianne says:

    The tall trees in your first photo are the flower spikes of the agave cactus – also known as The Century Plant. These magnificent (and huge) spikes are produced as the plant´s swansong, before the agave dies. We have lots of them here in Spain too 🙂

    Hope that helps Cathy – I didn´t realise you were here too!

    • Thanks Marianne, for the information about the agave cactus. I’m learning so much from my readers! I’m sure you have a lot in Spain too, as I imagine most of the Mediterranean countries do.

      As far as this Greece blog, I always do a separate blog for each country, because I want to create one place I can go for a whole picture of a place. It gets too confusing for me to navigate through one blog looking for posts about a specific country I’ve visited. Plus, each country has a definite mood and character! I think I now have 14 blogs for all the counties I’ve visited!!

Leave a Reply

