Friday, September 21:  Ailsa of Where’s my backpack?  has challenged us to come up with photos of white for International Peace Day today.  She writes: Friday September 21st is the UN’s International Day of Peace. The first Peace Day was celebrated in 1982; this year marks the 30th anniversary. The theme for 2012 is ‘Sustainable Peace for a Sustainable Future’.

People around the world mark the day in various ways; wearing white, observing silence at noon, lighting candles. In honour of the International Day of Peace, I would like to go all white for this week’s travel theme.

Here are a few shots of Oia in Santorini, Greece.  This is a peaceful place now, but sitting as it is in the middle of two active volcanoes, this peace may not be sustainable.  Let’s hope these volcanoes don’t ever wreak havoc on this place again.

bells for peace in Santorini

a peaceful spot in Santorini

Oia built at the edge of the caldera, a shining monument to man’s will to pick up the pieces and rebuild after utter devastation….

About catbird in japan

As of July 15, 2015, I'm now taking a break from living abroad. I'm living in Oakton, Virginia and looking for my next opportunity. Last year, I lived in China and taught English at Sino-Canadian International College. I also taught at a university in Nizwa, Oman for two years, and in Korea's public schools for one year. I love to travel and have been to 24 countries.

40 responses »

  1. Marco says:

    Your selection of pictures are gorgeous! I love the white/blue contrast, all that’s missing now is a kitty on the wall, lol. Yes I know, too many cheesy posters…maybe I should just photoshop a kitty in, lol. Don’t worry, won’t do that.

    • Thank you Marco! I really can’t wait to post many more photos of Santorini. It must be the most photogenic place on the planet. As far as the kitty, well, I know you’re a cat lover, but I on the other hand am 1) highly allergic to them and 2) not particularly fond… sorry!! I’m a dog person, through and through. 🙂

      • Marco says:

        I know all about being allergic to them, ha ha, I’ll join your club but where there’s a will there’s a way/ I love dogs too, can’t have one though cause of where I live 🙂 When the bigger place comes along though, bring them on. I’m very fond of Alsatians and grew up with police dogs around…guess what I’ll be getting, ha ha. Could photoshop a dog on the fence, hmmm, could work, too! And I can’t wait to see the rest of the pics, yay!

      • Don’t worry, Marco, despite my allergies to cats, you will see some very cute cats in my pictures of Crete, when I get to that part of my journey!!

      • Marco says:

        Woohoo I can’t wait! Have you posted them, yet? Have you posted them, yet? Have you *smack* I’ll sit here quietly and behave myself – that okay?

      • Don’t worry, Marco, they will come. You know how slow my internet is, so it takes me forever to upload my pictures… I promise I will get to it eventually. 🙂

  2. Tahira says:

    Wow. Wow. Wow. BREATH TAKING! Perfect for the theme.

  3. adinparadise says:

    Fabulous pics for the theme, Cathy. They’re truly breathtaking. I love the “Bells for Peace.” 🙂

  4. s1ngal says:

    the last pic is devastatingly beautiful and the message too…feels like *phoenix* redefined.

  5. writecrites says:

    Your gorgeous photos remind me of how much I love Santorini.

  6. Jo Bryant says:

    OMG what stunning images…I so want to go here

    • Thank you, Jo! This is only the tip of the iceberg for my photos. Between Crete and Santorini, I can’t even tell you how many pictures I took. They were so, well… picturesque! You should go for sure!

  7. Fats Suela says:

    Your pictures made my heart jump! Amazing shots! I love how you have captured the wonder that is Greece in your third picture. I wish to travel in Greece someday! =)

  8. Madhu says:

    Aah, you can’t beat Santorini for a white challenge! 🙂 The first one is just perfect for the theme!

  9. Wow – all beautiful, peaceful shots!

  10. Just beautiful! I hope to get there one day..

  11. These photos are stunning. Love the first one…really goes with the theme. I haven’t been getting many of these posts and now have a lot of catching up to do.

  12. […] travel-theme-white(catbirdingreece.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

