Saturday, September 8:  This morning I take my time checking out of Villa Galinia.  The ferry for Athens doesn’t leave until 6:40 this evening, so I have a long day ahead.   I linger over breakfast, reorganize and re-pack my suitcase with all my new purchases, and then go back into Fira, where I take a little walk through the white-washed village one last time.

All day today, the wind is howling and whistling over the island, a bright & cheery tempest.  I wonder if this is the “weather” that the tour company warned about when I decided to take the fast ferry tonight.

me at Mama’s Restaurant

I stop for lunch at Mama’s House, a Rick Steves-recommended restaurant.   According to Steves, this is a good budget choice with unpretentious Greek fare.  I order some tzatziki, a yogurt, cucumber and garlic appetizer, and some eggplant rolls.   As these are both “starters,” I figure it will be okay to eat two things, but as always, I’m surprised by the portion sizes.  They are both delicious, but, along with the bread that comes with the tzakziki, I can barely make a dent in the meal.

Eggplant rolls

I have plenty of time to kill, so I drive back to Oia, where I saw a cool painted cross I want to buy.  I walk around the town, find the little cross which is hand-painted by the shop’s owner, and take some more photos.

views in Oia

Oia church domes

another Oia church

me, hot and tired in Oia

On my way back, I take the route along the outer edge of the island, where I see vineyards, beaches, and a hill covered in windmills.  It’s quite a lovely drive out in the country, away from the tourist crowds of Oia and Fira.

windmills on a hillside on the outer edge of Santorini

Finally, I return to Villa Galinia, where I sit by the pool for a while, whiling the hours away.  Finally, I go to the little “Restaurant” in Akrotirion, where, since I’m barely hungry, I eat a colorful Greek salad with tomatoes, onions, olives and feta cheese.

my dinnertime restaurant in Akrotirion

the colorful restaurant in Akrotirion

Greek salad with feta, olives, onions & tomatoes

Finally, at around 6:00, I head to the new port to take the speed ferry to Athens.  I’m sad to leave the islands and return to the mainland, especially because there are so many other islands I would love to explore.  Of course, I know I’ll have fun on the mainland too, although it will be a different vibe altogether.

Little do I know what a torturous evening awaits me.

About nomad, interrupted

As of July 15, 2015, I'm now taking a break from living abroad. I'm living in Oakton, Virginia and looking for my next opportunity. Last year, I lived in China and taught English at Sino-Canadian International College. I also taught at a university in Nizwa, Oman for two years, and in Korea's public schools for one year. I love to travel and have been to 24 countries.

6 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on a nomad in the land of nizwa and commented:

    Farewell Santorini!

  2. We found a little fafal (how do you spell that) that sold them for 2 euro. They were divine and I ate them for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

  3. Marco says:

    Sad to leave but now we’re rid of all those darned couples, ha ha! By the way, the 1st pic, is that a bruise on your arm or a birthmark? Sorry it jumped out at me so I had to ask.

    • Funny you ask about that, Marco. It’s a bruise. I seem to always be running into things and I hardly pay attention when I do. I guess I must have a high pain threshold. Then later these nasty bruises appear and people always say, “Where did you get that? What is that thing?” And I just shrug because I honestly cannot remember for the life of me! 🙂

      • Marco says:

        Ah that explains it! Sometimes I’m also like that – your attention gets drawn to something and you’re like huh, how did that happen.

Leave a Reply

