Friday, September 7:  After relaxing by the pool at Villa Galinia, and exploring a bit of Akrotírion, I head into Fira for my last sunset view.  So far I have seen the sunset from Akrotírion and Oia;  tonight, my last night in Santorini,  I will see it from Fira.

Stani Tavern

I eat at Stani Tavern with its “sunset & volcano view.” I’m actually a little disappointed with this view, because I get here late and so am seated behind a bunch of couples.  The restaurant is small, and it’s difficult to get a uninterrupted view without intruding on these other diners.  Also, because this evening the wind has whipped up quite a bit, the restaurant has pulled a plastic cover over one side of the outdoor patio.  This also hinders the view.

my obstructed view of the sunset in Fira… oh well!

It’s still a pleasant atmosphere, even though I don’t get many good pictures.  I do get to peruse the menu though, and I find this unintelligible transliteration which hints at some wise folk saying:

a lantern on a table in Stani, overlooking Fira

The three characteristics of Santorini old people used to say as following:
the churches more many of the houses
the donkeys more many of the persons and
the wine more very from water
I don’t know for the two first but
the last one sure remains is in effect

I’m not sure exactly what they’re trying to say, but it seems it is complimentary toward wine.  If so, I’m in agreement!

me at Stani Tavern, my last night… 😦

I order tagliatelle with fresh salmon, which is good but quite heavy.  I also have my normal glass of red wine.  After dinner, the waiter brings me a complimentary sweet drink called Mastika.  This is a liquor seasoned with mastic, a resin gathered from the mastic tree, a small evergreen tree native to the Mediterranean region. The name of the resin is derived from the Greek “to chew, to gnash the teeth” (Wikipedia).

tagliatelle with fresh salmon

After dinner, I walk through the bright and lively lanes of Fira, stopping into shops here and there.  I end up buying a cool bracelet with a Greek symbol on it.

a funky jewelry shop in Fira

Then I go into a colorful shoe shop where I buy two pairs of Greek-style sandals, one silver and one red.  Like I really need to buy any more of ANYTHING to lug around in my suitcase for another week.

a shoe store in Stantorini

I return to Villa Galinia for my last night in Santorini, where I read until I fall asleep.  All night long, I toss and turn, alternating between my contented dream world and the real world outside my window ~ of howling wind, banging shutters, frantic wind chimes, and rushing water overflowing from the pool.  Though fitful, it’s not unpleasant. Not unpleasant at all.

I’ll be so sad to leave Santorini tomorrow.

About catbird in japan

As of July 15, 2015, I'm now taking a break from living abroad. I'm living in Oakton, Virginia and looking for my next opportunity. Last year, I lived in China and taught English at Sino-Canadian International College. I also taught at a university in Nizwa, Oman for two years, and in Korea's public schools for one year. I love to travel and have been to 24 countries.

6 responses »

  1. Marco says:

    More couples, eh? They are everywhere! May I suggest you lure them out to the volcano and sacrifice them to the volcano gods? You bought a bracelet and didn’t share a picture of it? How dare you – how very dare you? Okay, I think I’m done 😀

    • catbirdinoman says:

      More couples, yes, Marco! I think that is a great idea! Oh, do you want to see my bracelet? Maybe I will have to model all my new jewelry, except, well, I’m running out of space on this blog, and if I want to finish my whole trip without having to pay for space, I have to limit each of my remaining posts to 8 pictures!! Maybe I’ll wear it on my Oman blog one day!

  2. Reblogged this on a nomad in the land of nizwa and commented:

    Last sunset in Santorini…

Leave a Reply

