Thursday, September 6:  This morning I started my explorations of Fira.  I came upon the Catholic Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist.

This cathedral is in great contrast to many of its Byzantine neighbours. The peach exterior. as well as its size, makes it stand out from afar. There is also a wonderfully ornate clock tower within which are also bells.  The inside is just as decorative with large religious portraits framed with pillars. The dome from the interior is lilac blue and other parts are colored orange and cream.  The cathedral is not that old; it was restored and opened in 1975 after suffering from the earthquake of 1956.

Click on any of the photos to see a full-sized slide show.

About catbird in japan

As of July 15, 2015, I'm now taking a break from living abroad. I'm living in Oakton, Virginia and looking for my next opportunity. Last year, I lived in China and taught English at Sino-Canadian International College. I also taught at a university in Nizwa, Oman for two years, and in Korea's public schools for one year. I love to travel and have been to 24 countries.

12 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on a nomad in the land of nizwa and commented:

    a Catholic cathedral in Fira, Santorini

  2. adinparadise says:

    Beautiful pics again, Cathy. I don’t think we saw this church.

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I love the decorative cobble path!

  4. It looks so pristine and perfect. Love the architecture.

  5. Marco says:

    Very nice – is that more arches I see over there? Quick, get your bigger, badder handbag!

Leave a Reply

