Wednesday, September 5:  I arrive at my hotel, Villa Galinia, in Akrotírion within a half hour after I get my rental car.  I’m anxious to deposit my stuff and start exploring Santorini.  Akrotírion, as I said in an earlier post, is at the far southern end of Santorini, away from the bustle and crowds of Fira and the picturesque beauty of Oia.  Akrotírion has a different kind of beauty altogether, not like the whitewashed villages up north, but more like the earth-toned buildings and landscape of Crete.  I like the area’s windswept beauty, its southern view of the sea and the caldera, and its relative seclusion from the crowds.  This place becomes my peaceful little oasis while in Santorini.

the entrance to Villa Galinia

the outdoor “lobby” at Villa Galinia

cool wind chimes outside reception

the pool at Villa Galinia

the outdoor dining area

stairs leading to my room

The owners are a married Greek couple.  The wife is sweet and welcoming, despite the fact that she neither speaks nor understands much English.  She takes good care of me, and I know she has a gentle heart.

my room

another view of my room

the view from my balcony

a “room” with a view

the lovely pool

the view of the caldera from Villa Galinia

This hotel is only 35 euros a night, the cheapest place I stay in Greece, and it includes breakfast.  Though the location is on the outskirts of the action, with a car, I find it is no problem at all.   This is my little home away from home in Santorini.

About catbird in japan

As of July 15, 2015, I'm now taking a break from living abroad. I'm living in Oakton, Virginia and looking for my next opportunity. Last year, I lived in China and taught English at Sino-Canadian International College. I also taught at a university in Nizwa, Oman for two years, and in Korea's public schools for one year. I love to travel and have been to 24 countries.

23 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on a nomad in the land of nizwa and commented:

    my hotel in Santorini…

  2. That’s a lovely hotel! Looking at all your pictures now that the weather is getting colder makes me feel nostalgia….. which of course is a good thing! Lovely summer pictures are always a good thing! 😀

    • It’s nice, in my book, to have 4 seasons, Ioanna. I miss that so much! I usually love the fall weather too! And even the cold. I think having the four seasons makes you appreciate each one in turn… 🙂

  3. It looks fab – I am well jealous

  4. Lucid Gypsy says:

    What a lovely place, I just checked it on Trip Advisor too 🙂

  5. adinparadise says:

    This looks like a little piece of Heaven, Cathy, and that blue sky is stunning. I think I could quite happily, spend a month there. 🙂

  6. Colline says:

    Looks like a beautiful place to visit 🙂

  7. I loved Santorini, can’t wait to go back one day!

    • Me too, Jennifer!! I always hope to return to places I love, but when I see all the places before me I’ve never seen, then I wonder if I will ever be able to return… 🙂

  8. Marco says:

    That place looks very decent – the pool looks inviting and coming from me, that’s impressive, lol.

  9. Always nice to find an oasis. What a beautiful place to relax in.

  10. Carol says:

    On the outskirts perhaps, but oh so lovely. And so Greek.

  11. Robin says:

    I so want to go to Greece, and this is making me yearn to go even more. I love the colors, the light, everything. I need to show this series of photos to my husband. These are the colors I had in my mind when we painted the interior rooms of our house.

Leave a Reply

