Wednesday, September 5:  As the afternoon stretches on and heats up in Oia, I decide I better get something to eat before I keel over.  It hits me that I have been up since 5:00 a.m. for my travel from Crete, so I stop at a beautiful cafe overlooking the pristine village spilling down the caldera wall.  I want to eat, drink, and inhale the fresh air and the atmosphere that is Santorini.

time for a late lunch…so enticing in the afternoon heat…

the view from my table. 🙂

my lunchtime view

The cafe is quiet except for two British couples who are having a feast nearby.  I order a Greek beer and some bruschetta, smothered with tomatoes, olives and feta cheese, and drizzled with olive oil.

bruschetta in Oia

food with a view. what could be better?

I want a light snack because I am still hoping to have dinner at a restaurant here in Oia during sunset.  However, this plate of bruschetta, smothered in olive oil, turns out to be quite filling.  Plus, I should know better than to have a beer in the afternoon.  As the heat of the afternoon wraps around me, and the delicious bruschetta fills my stomach, the beer adds its soothing effect.  Pretty soon, I am feeling quite drowsy.

watching the ships roll in, and I’ll watch them roll away again…

the sunlight glimmers on the water below…

getting sleepy…

I’m interrupted from my drowsiness by the sight of the donkey-riding garbage collector.

the garbage collector rides a donkey!

I’m feeling very relaxed after this amazing lunch.  How will I make it here in Oia until sunset?

About catbird in japan

As of July 15, 2015, I'm now taking a break from living abroad. I'm living in Oakton, Virginia and looking for my next opportunity. Last year, I lived in China and taught English at Sino-Canadian International College. I also taught at a university in Nizwa, Oman for two years, and in Korea's public schools for one year. I love to travel and have been to 24 countries.

8 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on a nomad in the land of nizwa and commented:

    lunchtime and drowsiness in Oia…

  2. adinparadise says:

    That meal sounds just heavenly, Cathy. Santorini is just how I remember it. I would like to be there right now, seeing the sights and hearing the sounds that you describe so well. 🙂

  3. Carol says:

    How about a short nap in your car? The food and the views for your lunch were absolutely stunning!

    • I maybe should have taken a short nap in the car, but it was so hot, I didn’t even feel like doing that. As you will see, I went back to the south, saving the Oia sunset for another night!

  4. Marco says:

    Careful not to keel over and fall into the sea, lol. Hmmm, that bruschetta looks very good…

Leave a Reply

