Friday, August 31:  After asking the hotel clerk for a glass of wine, I use the phone at the bar to call the Egypt Air numbers the woman from the airport gave me.   There is no answer at either of the numbers.  This is the first and only time I lose it.  I hate being a crybaby, but here I am, crying in frustration that I can’t get any information about my luggage.  There has been no word from the airline all afternoon.

Greek wine and the Acropolis 🙂

Finally, the clerk, seeing I am upset, dials the number for me and he gets through!  I give someone my claim number, and the kind woman tells me that they won’t know anything until tomorrow afternoon.  She tells me not to worry, everything will be fine.  Then the hotel clerk reassures me that the incidents of lost luggage happen ALL THE TIME!!  He says I wouldn’t believe how often this happens, practically every day!  Usually the airline drops off the luggage that same evening or the next morning.  Since Egypt Air has assured me that the next flight from Cairo will not arrive in Athens until tomorrow, I know I have no choice but to wait.  Being a very impatient person, this will be a challenge.

the Acropolis from the rooftop of the Acropolis View Hotel

I take my glass of wine up to the 5th floor terrace of the hotel and sit on a wrought-iron chair and soak up the Acropolis view.  It’s amazing, with the sun setting and the golden light washing over it. Several other hotel guests are up there as well.  A nice couple from Wisconsin has some bread and cheese and fruit from the market, and they ask if I’d like to share in their dinner.  I speak to them for a while, but I don’t want to intrude on their meal.  Besides, I am determined to go out and eat some good Greek food at a restaurant.

closer….

the view to the street below

closest…

This is such a pleasant spot, with a cool breeze and amazing ancient history right in front of me.  Athens spreads out in every direction all around.   It’s lovely and I adore basking in it.  I linger.  I sit.  I absorb.  I’m already in love with Greece, and I haven’t even been here a full day.

yours truly, finally in Athens, with just the clothes on my back!

About nomad, interrupted

As of July 15, 2015, I'm now taking a break from living abroad. I'm living in Oakton, Virginia and looking for my next opportunity. Last year, I lived in China and taught English at Sino-Canadian International College. I also taught at a university in Nizwa, Oman for two years, and in Korea's public schools for one year. I love to travel and have been to 24 countries.

24 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on a nomad in the land of nizwa and commented:

    MORE FROM GREECE!

  2. adinparadise says:

    I can understand your frustration. We all need our ‘stuff’ don’t we, especially when we’re in a strange place. I wonder that they thought to reassure you by saying that luggage gets lost all the time there. 🙂 The view to the street below made me quite dizzy. 🙂

  3. Hope you’re reunited with your luggage soon – love your pictures especially the one from the roof terrace, what a view

  4. Carol says:

    Beautiful view, but for me a bottle of wine would have been the ticket. I dislike being controlled rather than being in control and not having a change of clothes would be – most unpleasant. However, a bottle of wine would have precluded a nice dinner, so obviously you handled it in the right way.

  5. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Well you survived to tell the tale but it must have been horrid!

  6. restlessjo says:

    Love those crystal clear beautiful images of the Acropolis, Cath. All worthwhile, in the end?

  7. Madhu says:

    Oh, I would have done the same! But you did have the right antidotes at least 😀 Gorgeous, gorgeous photos!

  8. Thank goodness for hanging out on the rooftop. Dazzling views and wine and cheese and a kind word from the Wisconsin folks. Life is good…for the moment…while waiting for …

  9. Marco says:

    were you thinking of bungee jumping off the 5th floor? note: always make sure the cords are attached properly. people don’t take kindly to other people falling through their car roofs. I know, how rude of them – they should be more cosiderate and caring.

  10. Robin says:

    I’d have cried too, but what a view you had!

Leave a Reply

